In Virginia, all automobile vehicle owners are required to comply with insurance laws. Drivers who do not comply could face criminal penalties and administrative requirements. The results of an auto accident could lead to further penalties and a lawsuit. A Roanoke Traffic Lawyer helps drivers facing these circumstances.
Non-Compliance with Insurance Laws
The law states that all vehicle owners must acquire at least liability insurance coverage. The valuations for the policy should provide a minimum of $25,000 for a single accident injury. It should provide $50,000 for the total accident when more than one party is injured. It should also pay for $20,000 worth of property damage.
However, the Department of Motor Vehicles allows vehicle owners to pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500. If they choose this option, they are responsible for all expenses when they are at fault in an accident. All vehicle owners must choose one of these options to remain compliant with the law.
Non-compliance leads to a $500 fine and suspension of the driver’s license and registration. The driver will also have to purchase SR-22 insurance for three years. A Robert F. Rider can provide representation for these vehicle owners.
When Auto Accidents Generate a Product’s Liability
A product’s liability exists in an auto accident when auto parts or faulty repairs caused the accident. An inspection of these factors is conducted when conditions such as a brake failure occurs. The product’s manufacturer or auto service that performed the repair is reported. The victim of these events has the right to file a formal claim against the liable party. A Roanoke Litigation and Trial Lawyer helps them prepare for their court date.
Understanding the Penalties for DUI
The penalties for a first-time DUI charge is based on a class 1 misdemeanor offense. The driver incurs a fine of a minimum of $250. The maximum for this fine is $2,500. However, any driver charged with an aggravated DUI could face at least five days in county lockup. Aggravated DUI is defined by a blood-alcohol content reading that exceeds 0.15 percent. The state reserves the right to order the installation of an ignition interlocking device in the vehicle.
In Virginia, auto accidents could lead to civil lawsuits and criminal charges. These events are managed according to the circumstances that caused them. This may include the presence of a product’s liability or a criminal DUI charge. Individuals who need legal assistance should contact a Roanoke Criminal Defense Lawyer today.